Tonight, at 7.00 pm, the exhibition of the ‘Ninth Edition of the Auditorium of Galicia Prize for young artists’ was opened. My installation Paisaje rururbano (i.e. Rururban landscape), created specifically for this date, is among the selected artworks.


The Auditorium of Galicia Prize, which is biennial, is one of the most prestigious awards in our regional government. Its main objective is the fact of supporting the current creation developed by Galician artists under 40 years old, thus enabling their continuity in the Galician, national and international scene. The artists awarded in previous editions are a good example of this, such as Rubén Ramos Balsa, Manuel Eirís, Holga Méndez, Tamara Feijoo, Joan Morera, Damián Ucieda, Jacobo Bugarín, Christian García Bello, María Castellanos and Jesús Madriñán among others.


The jury, which evaluated each of the 113 unpublished projects presented, was composed of Silvia Modia Ferreiro (Director of the Auditorium of Galicia), David Barro (Director of the Luis Seoane Foundation), Carmen Fernández Rivera (Director of the MAC, The Gas Natural Fenosa Museum of Contemporary Art), Román Padín Otero (professor at Esdemga and, at the same time, art and fashion critic), Mar Caldas (professor at the Fine Arts Faculty of Pontevedra, curator and artist) and Chus Busto (responsible for exhibitions at the Auditorium of Galicia).


The exhibition will be open to the public until next September and, needless to say it is a recommended visit to keep abreast of what’s going on around plastic creation with Galician seal.



Selected artists:

Carlos AG, Amine Asselman, Pablo Barreiro, Marta Bran, Samuel Castro, David Catá, Daniel Cerecedo Bretal, Sara Coleman, Iria Cortizo, Dana Díaz, Dio3stu (Iñaki López), Roi Domínguez, Rut Briones & Raquel Durán, Tamara Feijoo, Félix Fernández, Javier Fernández Pérez de Lis, David Ferrando Giraut, Marta Fortes, Furallefalle (Vanesa Castro), Lúa Gándara, Christian García Bello, Diego Germade, Amaya González Reyes, Enrique Lista, M8K8 (Marcos Covelo), Jesús Madriñán, Joseba Muruzábal Pérez, Rosa Neutro, Mery Pais, Ignacio Pérez, Lara Pintos, Uxia Piñeiro, Mar Ramón Soriano, Aarón Sanromán, Borja Santomé, Neves Seara, Ismael Teira, Mónica Trastoy, Verónica Vicente and José Manuel Vidal Vidal.


Auditorium of Galicia
Avda. do Burgo das Nacións, s/n, Santiago de Compostela (Spain).
From the 11th of March to September of 2016.
Every day, 10.00 am-2.00 pm and 4.00-7.00 pm.


Paisaje rururbano (i.e. Rururban landscape), 2016
Pictorial installation
Dimensions variable


Jury’s decision+